The area we know as Santa Fe has a history reaching back many hundreds of years before the Presbyterians established a church here. There had been Native American settlements here for thousands of years before the Spanish arrived.

Then after the Spanish settled here, Santa Fe was the Spanish capitol for 200 years (1610-1821) on the northern fringe of the Spanish Empire. When Mexico gained its independence from Spain in 1821, Santa Fe became the capital of “New” Mexico.

With the conclusion of the Mexican War in 1848, New Mexico (which included what we know now as Arizona) became a territory of the United States through the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo. Both New Mexico and Arizona achieved statehood in 1912.

Back to History Overview

Back to Our Pastors

Forward to In the Beginning